Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

I swear it was in our vows.

on January 7, 2013

Jason, do you take this woman to be your lawfully wedded wife?  To have and to hold, to love and to honour, and to clean up all the gross things that may happen from now into eternity?

 

Ja, while gazing deeply and lovingly into my eyes, “I do.”

 

Me, “Ha ha!  Sucker.”

 

He insists that those words were not in our vows at all.  I say they were.  Either way, he still cleans up all the gross things in this house.  Win=me.

 

When I got pregnant with Keyzia, I suddenly couldn’t change the cat boxes.  Well, almost 11 years later, and I STILL haven’t picked that one back up.  Puke, poop, you name it, he does it.  He rinses out poopy cloth diapers that have sat waiting for him all day.  He cleans up puke, both animal and human.  He is amazing.  (In more ways than just this, but this in particular these days.

 

It has been a really terrible winter for illnesses in our neck of the woods this year.  We seem to be getting hit over and over…  the up and down of the weather seems to make us really susceptible to every little bug that wants to squirrel it’s way in.  One gets it, then shares it with the next, and the next, and the next.

 

Bleh.

 

We’ve had the puke plague once now.  It ran through everyone but me.  I drank gallons of grape juice mixed with apple cider vinegar.  Seriously, I have never spent so much money on grape juice in my life.  But, I figured, it couldn’t hurt, right?

 

That was a few weeks ago.  Ja ended up taking a day off.  That night Eph was sick.  And let me tell you, he is the WORST one.  He was standing BESIDE the toilet, and puked all over the bathroom.

 

Ja, even though he had been sick that day, cleaned it up.

 

That man is a saint.

 

Saturday night I went to bed, and was all nice and cozy.  You know when there’s a chill to the room and you’re in that little space between being fully asleep, and just being content to be warm and cozy and relaxed?  I was there.  Only to be viciously jolted awake by the sounds of wretching.

 

My heart sank.  I just laid there for a minute hoping that I was dreaming.  Hoping that we weren’t doing this again.  And then, there it was…  Talya.  At least she made it to the toilet?

 

Every hour after that we’d hear the plaintive cry of, “Daaaaaddddddyyyyy.”  Then the retching into the puke bucket.

 

Ja got to stay home from church with Talya the next day.  I took the two older ones, who were showing absolutely no sign of illness whatsoever.  We do the church thang, and then… on the way home…  Eph exploded all over the back of the van.

 

Yup.

 

Nasty stuff.

 

When we got home and I broke the news to Ja, he just stared at me blankly for a minute, then said, “Well, I guess the van needed a good cleaning anyway.”

 

A saint, I tell you.  That man is a saint.

 

((I suggested just driving the van into the lake, and pretending nothing ever happened….  he gave me that look.  You know the one…))

2 responses to “I swear it was in our vows.

  1. Russell says:

    Gasp! Three (THREE) posts in a week! Squeeeee! I now need to download that Google Reader thingie! And figure out how to use it 😉 Seeing as you don’t posts on FB anymore . . .

  2. Totally should’ve drove that van into the lake.

Leave a Reply

