Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Photography Friday

on June 10, 2011

I have always enjoyed taking pictures. It must run in the blood because my crazy Mum used to do photography professionally.

A few weeks ago, my baby sister asked me to do the pictures at her upcoming wedding. Getting a wee bit nervous, I started quizzing my mum… on some tricks of the trade as it were. The thing is, in those days (my mum is pretty old, you see…) she used film. Things are much different now with the digital and fully automated cameras!

We both have Nikon D3000, which, while Ken Rockwell says it’s the worst camera Nikon ever made, it’s really still quite a nice camera!

Anyway, amid the discussion of photography techniques, the trading of links to tips and tricks, and etc… I thought, why not a photography challenge with my mama? She was all for that, and so here we are! On Photography Friday!

The rules are as follows,

1. Cameras have to be on the same “master” pre-agreed upon setting, no Auto. Within that setting it’s okay to manipulate some of the other settings. Like shutter speed, iso, etc.

2. No pictures of hooligans, unless it directly applies to the subject chosen that week.

3. One week one of us chooses the subject, one of us chooses the setting (P, S, A, M)

4. No editing of the pictures in any kind of photo editing software.

5. 3 pictures that must conform to the above rules have to be posted on our respective blogs by midnight on Friday.

This week I chose the subject “Green”, and Mum chose the setting “P”. I’m a wee bit obsessed with green right now. It was a very very long winter.

Here are my three favourites (altho you can see a few of the others if you click through to Flickr.)

June 2011 100

June 2011 088

June 2011 085

You can find my Mum’s pictures here.

It was actually kind of fun to be forced to go out for a bit and have to look at things as potential photography subjects. I’m pretty pleased with these three shots, although I still have a ways to go to catch up with the master!

Catch us back next Friday, or heck, join in! Mum has chosen the subject to be “Hands” and I’m choosing “A” as the camera setting.

3 responses to “Photography Friday

  1. Allyson says:

    Good pics…however, I don’t think your playing fair if you don’t post the link to your mom’s pics! 😉

  2. jamie says:

    I did, Allyson. Top of the page. 😉

  3. Mom says:

    Love the 2nd one the best. Good job sweetie.

Leave a Reply

