Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Multitude Monday – One thousand gifts

on May 30, 2011

It’s the day after the day that marked 12 years for us. 12 years ago we stood in front of all who loved us, who knew us, family, friends, all of them… we looked each other in the eye and pledged to spend the rest of our lives together. Through sickness and health, through good times and bad.

After 12 years married, and 19 as a couple, there have been good times, so many that it’s hard to count them all. There have been bad times, some that have faded over time, some that still occasionally feel sharp with remembrance. And yet, when I look at this man, this man who makes me laugh, who makes me cry, whose smile is the one I seek at the end of the day, and I am so very very thankful.

406. A man who has no qualms about wearing his precious baby in a pretty floral wrap.

march 126.jpg

407. Who listens to his children, and is really interested in what they have to say. Even when they were very small.

Kitchener and London 079

408. Who makes me smile when I’m playing around with a camera… has no worries about having his silly faces recorded for all to see.

january 024

409. A man who shovels the front walk in classic Canadian winter gear. A touque, handmade of course, boots, a vest, and… shorts.

march 051

410. the patented “Daddy hold”

october 057

411. The way he still plays with me, just the way we did when we were teens.

IMG_2033

412. When he snuggles the sick ones. Just to give me a break.

christmas 2008 085

413. His strength in taking care of us. Making sure that we spend the winter warm, regardless of the extra work that it makes for him.

February 030

414. His absolute and undying love for our hooligans. Even when they’re being rotten.

Mother's Day 2011 047

415. Now is the time for honesty. I really married him for his butt.

Easter 2011 051

I can’t even begin to count how thankful I am that God gave this man to me. That I get to spend my life with him. That he is standing beside me when I struggle, that he is the strong support in our family, the one who keeps us all together. He is a solid man, and I am glad for him.

Hunna? I’m still glad that it’s you.

3 responses to “Multitude Monday – One thousand gifts

  1. Tamara says:

    Awesome post! Visiting you from Ann’s hop. Have a blessed week! Tamara @ God’s Perfect Promises

  2. T :) says:

    Beautiful post, Jamie. Congratulations you two! You guys rock!
    T 🙂

  3. Beckie Evans says:

    wow…..beautiful Jamie…you are such a talented woman in so many ways….Here is to many more cherished years together…

Leave a Reply

