Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Multitude Monday – One Thousand Gifts

on April 18, 2011

We debate. We debate on making a long trip for a short visit. My worry about our loved one overrides any thoughts about inconvenience. About planning. About hauling three children on a long van ride.

When my Dad calls to give us updates, I can hear the hint of weary worry in his voice, and when Dad is worried? Dad? The rock in our house? The glue that holds the rest of us women together… when he’s worried, as much as he tries to hide it, I know that there’s something to worry about.

But, we drive down. We enjoy lunch and visiting. And then we spend a short time in the hospital where Mum is thrilled to see us, see the kids, in spite of her pain, and in spite of having a very hard time staying awake. I feel relief because I can see her. Because she is hurting, but she is okay. She had the same grin. Her eyes twinkled just enough, and my world is okay because I can see, because I can know that she is okay. Not great, but okay.

And sometimes, sometimes it’s good to just be okay. Because from okay, you can always go up. Sure, you can go down, but up is so close… so easily attainable.

When my Mum texted me today, I knew she was on her way up. And it was good.

386. peaceful van rides, full of Narnia, knitting, and snoozing four year olds
387. the relief at seeing my Mum. Okay. Solidly Okay.
388. lovely and lengthy lunch with Dad
389. books
390. library book sales
391. kids excited about library book sales
392. books. just. books.
393. Friday night movie night
394. crackling heat from the woodstove
395. Sun snowstorms
396. winter tires
397. long chats, some deep, some not, with good friends. Agreeing to disagree, and still friends in the end
398. old cats, purring, fuzzy, happy
399. drawing and dreaming with Daddy
400. cooking together
401. Babies, falling asleep on the floor, bums in the air
402. 3 year olds, modelling the “big boy carry”
403. Hope
404. good chats with family
405. Easter coming

April 2011 015

April 2011 014

April 2011 013

April 2011 012

April 2011 004

April 2011 009

April 2011 010

One response to “Multitude Monday – One Thousand Gifts

  1. Melanie says:

    That last photo is PRECIOUS!!!!! LOVE it!

    I have some free Easter / “He Is Risen” blog buttons if you would like one to display on your blog! They are on my blog and free to anyone who would like one. 🙂

    Celebrating His resurrection,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

