Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Multitude Monday – One Thousand Gifts

on February 28, 2011

There are times when I just don’t feel like doing Multitude Monday.  When counting the neverending  gifts seems almost… burdensome.  But, that’s when I seem to lose my focus.  That’s when I seem to get mired down in the negative.  Awash in the darkness that can dominate your day if you refuse to see the little things.

I read this quote recently,

Our ability to love is proportionate to our feeling of gratitude about life.  If someone feels the joy of having been given much, she is capable of loving much.  If one knows she has been forgiven much, she loves spectacularly.

Lewis B. Smedes The Art of Forgiving

I have been forgiven much. So very very much. But do I love that way? Or do I hold onto the little hurts, the things that don’t really matter, hold onto those things and prevent myself from loving spectacularly?

And so I count, I think about those things that I have been freely given. Given in spite of my lackings, my failures. And I look for the opportunities to love spectacularly.

341. A new nephew. Bright, sweet, healthy.
342. A baby sister, becoming a mama in her own right.
343. Wee little baby toes.
344. Cousins, enamoured with each other.
345. Another sister, younger, but never thought of as the baby, rescuing us from a torturous drive.
346. Sleepy newborn baby smiles.
347. Another set of cousins, ecstatic to see each other again.
348. Three year old birthdays.
349. Snow that forces us to visit for longer.
350. Safe travels.
351. A husband who does all the driving, knowing how much I hate to drive in unknown places.
352. The hint of spring in the air.
353. Wet boots by the fire.
354. Watching movies, all curled up together in a heap.
355. Baby’s first time in the sling.
356. New Daddies who are proud enough to put their baby in a flowered wrap. And like it.
357. Long dawdling walks in a new to us town. Rich in history.
358. Getting home to a house that has not burnt down.
359. Kind and generous friends, opening their house to our dog so that we could snuggle a wee babe.
360. Lazy days… regrouping… remembering… counting….

Emery 025

Emery 023

Emery 019

Emery 012

Emery 010

Beatrice's birthday 2011

Beatrice's birthday 2011

Beatrice's birthday 2011

2 responses to “Multitude Monday – One Thousand Gifts

  1. Craig says:

    I’m here from Ann’s today – I know it’s Tuesday – reading lots of lists takes some time 🙂

    Of your “thank you’s” this week my favorite was: 354. Watching movies, all curled up together in a heap. (because family – it’s all about family!!)

    And your counting “fatigue” – totally human, totally OK – forgiving IS an art. Especially forgiving yourself sometimes. No?
    Thank you for this – it all just made me smile – and smiles are important.

    God Bless you and all of yours

  2. Angel says:

    Oh my kiddo cuteness. When did they grow up? Could you please ask them to refrain from growing up any more 😉

Leave a Reply

