Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Hope

on January 1, 2010

Ah Yes, here it is 2010.  The very first day of a new year.  I have already written in my journal, read Isaiah 43, and made myself a cup of tea.

I think that it’s trite to say that we go into a New Year to foster change.  New Year!  New things!  That all of the old crappy stuff will magically disappear as we move on into the new.

Today I have also yelled at the children as opposed to speaking quietly.  I have impatiently said ‘no’.  I have just wanted to be left alone for ten minutes… to have quiet…

That stuff isn’t so new either.  That stuff is there, in the background… the things that you say and do that leave you disappointed in yourself, disappointed with where you are in life.

But, for us?  This new year brings hope.  It brings hope that there will be change, that there will be growth.  That maybe, just maybe, the New Year will bring belonging, understanding, wisdom.  And if it doesn’t bring all of that?  Then perhaps, just perhaps it will bring us one step closer when this year is gone and the new one begins.

Hope.  We are given hope.  And even if I don’t know what those plans are for this new year?  Someone bigger than me does.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.
Jeremiah 29:11

From all of us here, to all of you wherever you are, we wish you peace, joy, laughter, and above all hope in this new year.

Christmas 2009

Leave a Reply

