Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Grape Vine Studies – Review – Jesus' Birth

on December 4, 2009

Hello.  My name is Jamie, and I am addicted to drawing stick figures.  Which is why GrapeVine is so great for us!

I did review these guys before over here…  and talked about how much we loved it.  That was the Beginner Old Testament Overview that time (we are still working through it, by the way… we’re at the point where, as the hooligans like to say, the Israelites have to have a 40 year timeout for not listening to God.  Man, I love the way kids put it so simply!)

I had subscribed to the newsletter at that time, and Dianna kept tempting me with on sale studies, little bits of studies, and the like.  Terrible really.  😛  Last week I got a notice that the Level 1 Birth of Jesus (I’m not seeing the link for it there on the site tho… ) study was on sale, complete with timeline.

As per usual, I let the email sit in my inbox for a bit while I pondered whether I really NEEDED a birth of Jesus study…

huh.

Turns out that I DID!  So I bought it.

Verdict?  Awesome.

Seriously.  This study starts out with the genealogy of Jesus, and moves to when Mary is approached by the Angel Gabriel to tell her of her impending pregnancy…  includes her song of praise, includes Joseph’s difficult decision, and goes right to the time when Joseph has a dream that it’s safe for him to move.

December09 005

All of the different events are done in each lesson, while at the same time being plunked on the timeline.  The way we’re doing this is to put the even on the timeline AS we get to it in the study itself.  We didn’t do the whole timeline, then go back.

December09 009

Here’s what I like about Grapevine…  I love that it’s all layed out for you.  Frankly, the less work I have to do, the better.  You can be as in depth as you like, there are loads of helpful tips and questions… readings that the teachers can do, that kind of thing.

December09 008

Also?  The pictures that the hooligans draw can be as simple OR as complicated as they want them to be.  Even when my cantankerous son is feeling cantankerous, he ASKS to do bible study.  That gives it a win in my books.  Not to mention that they REMEMBER what they’ve drawn.  It’s crazy how they’ll link every day things or stories to something we’ve studied.

The Beginner Study that we did before doesn’t have the timeline.  We are really enjoying that aspect of this study, and can’t wait to do more like it!

I’m hoping to have the Birth of Jesus timed so that we can be finished right about when Christmas starts…  it’s a great diversion from what we had been doing, but fits nicely as well.

I’d also like to say that this is not just good for homeschoolers.  Anyone who wants to instill the real meaning of the season in their hooligans would do well to have this study.  While I wrote the timeline on our chalkboard for the first lesson, I often just show the hooligans the picture in the teacher book.  The scriptural guidelines make it so that you don’t have to wade through lots of different things to make sure that your hooligans understand the point of what’s going on.

Student e-book is $7.95 (American Funds)
The e-book Teacher guide is $11.95

There are lots of studies on sale over there right now, what are you waiting for!  Go check it out!

Disclaimer: The only compensation that I received for this review was a free copy of the teacher text.  I will give honest and truthful reviews, and where concern is warranted, it will be noted.

Leave a Reply

