Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Different…

on November 6, 2009

It’s funny when I think about how I got to the place I am now.  To how we live our lives… to how different it is than what we thought it would be when we were dreaming newlyweds.

Back then I said I didn’t understand how women could stay home with their kids all the time.  There was no way I was going to do something like THAT.

And now, here I am, at home, homeschooling my three hooligans.

THAT is a far cry from those idyllic dreamy days when it all seemed laid before us!

I sort of have two groups of friends.  I have the group of friends who also homeschool, who’s kids are roughly the same ages as mine, and who think in mostly the same ways.

I also have the group of friends who’s kids go to school, and also think I am nuts for keeping mine home.

It’s the second group that is sometimes hard.  I often feel like I can’t have a bad day when I’m with them.  Or, if I have had a bad day, I certainly can’t talk about it.  Some of my friends have said to me that if I would just send them to school, then I would get a break.  There is obvious judgment there.  There are the questions about what we did that week, with the bit of, “yah, you just sat around and played all week, admit it…” in the tone.  There’s the expectation that because I homeschool, we spend the whole day sitting at the dining room table.  And if we don’t spend the whole day sitting at the dining room table working math sums and practicing our nouns and verbs?  Then that is simply more judgment.

What bothers me about that is that I would never say to someone, “Oh, all your behaviour problems stem from sending your kids to school!  You are away from them far too much, you should homeschool!”  Why is it then okay for people to say the opposite to me?  Why is it okay for them to judge us and our decisions for our family.  Just because we homeschool, or just because we go to church, choose not to get the flu shot, wear mostly skirts, heck, just because we painted our kitchen lime green, just because we are different, does not mean that it is okay to look down on us, to see us as weird, to make little comments.

We are called by Jesus to be in the world, but not of the world.

I think that for me, knowing that we are doing the right thing for OUR family, and not judging others for doing what they feel is the right thing for THEIR families… that has to be enough.

One response to “Different…

  1. I was just checkin’ out the competition (ALL of it WAY funnier than me~LOL!) and enjoyed the honesty of this post. I wrote something similar in the last few weeks myself! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

