Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Homeschool Room?? Space? Where all our crap lives???

on June 17, 2009

Well, I was inspired on a post on the TOS Reviewers site to post pics of our Homeschool room.  It’s not so much a room…  kind of the dining room, I guess??  It’s nice to not have to clean everything up for every meal though.

As a disclaimer, I will say that I totally cleaned and organized this before taking pictures of it.  On a normal day, there are books, paper, pens, pencils, scissors… you know, the usual hooligan debris scattered everywhere.  Hold on until the end of the post for a keepin’ it real pic.

Our living room and dining room are really one big room.  The biggest downfall is that the whole thing is carpeted.  Frankly, I think that carpet should be banned.  Totally and completely banned.  Especially with children around.  And a dog.  And a cat.  And carpet in the dining room??  Only slightly less heinous than the carpet that we ripped out of the BATHROOM.  You heard me, carpet in the BATHROOM.  sigh.

But, enough rambling, this is our dining/homeschool room.  It’s nice and bright! ((if you click through to the set, I did label all the spots with what’s there.))

June 062

The kitchen is through the door to the left there.  The binder on the table is my Ambleside Online Schedule that I “follow”.  We’re on week 11.  The basket in the centre of the table are the books we’ll be reading tomorrow.

June 063

Here we have the slate chalkboard that we got off of freecycle, the calendar and weather chart to the left of that, number line that goes from 0-9 instead of 1-10 (I had to modify it…) and the alphabet.

June 064

The first bookshelf, on the bottom are toys, colouring books in the white basket… (btw, I LOVE these white sterilite baskets.  They are ridiculously cheap and come in a multitude of sizes.  I label them with cardstock and packing tape across the front.  I got these at Walmart, but I’ve seen them at Zellers too.)  Then, miscellaneous books, hopefully no Twaddle.  There are a lot of books missing from here as they’ve been appropriated for a “library” in the basement.  The shelf above that has homeschool books, above that are math manipulatives, with the Math U See manipulatives in the white basket.  Above that are the Cds, a basket with our cheque books and note cards, and the Leapsters and Gameboys with the games.

June 065

In the cupboard of this shelf is all of our tupperware.  Kind of a pain, but there is really NO room in the kitchen.  I would love to completely revamp the kitchen!  Then we have puzzles and such, then more games, and tall homeschool books and resource books.  Then Nature Notebooks the original Charlotte Mason Homeschooling Series, and more random books.  Also, in the jars are the “good” pens, pencils, etc..  Above that are the things that I want the kids to ask for before they use them.  Basket of card games and flashcards that we never use, paints and paint brushes, and watercolour pencils, calligraphy pens, and that kind of thing.

June 066

On the other wall we have this wicker drawer thingy.  It holds arts and craft type stuff.  Along with the top having the food dehydrator!  There’s a plug in behind this, so it works to stick it there.  We also have three more baskets shoved underneath this thing for stickers, magazines to cut up, and worksheets or colouring sheets.

art wall

The art wall.  Not that it’s big enough to put all the art the hooligans generate up there!  I’m hoping to get frames for those pictures one day.  I picked up a set of Impressionist period art prints really cheap at Chapters.  Hoping to start art study soon.  The magnet strips are from Ikea.

June 068

And, the chore wall.  Talya’s chart is missing because she broke the ribbon on it.  Sigh.  One more thing to fix.  The cards are from the Choreganizers system that I so love love love!  I of course had to modify it a little bit though.

So, it’s a good space, but I will say that we only REALLY use it for math.  We do our reading on the couch… or on the swing outside… or under the trampoline… you get the point.  I DO like being able to have almost all of our things in one spot.  That’s the best part.

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnd… last but not least… the reality check.  This is the living room half of the room…  I obviously did not get to it today!  This is how we REALLY live.

Keepin' it real

5 responses to “Homeschool Room?? Space? Where all our crap lives???

  1. Nikki says:

    I also like those white sterlite baskets!
    Thanks for keeping it real:)
    My house has its up and down days too. Some days you would walk in and see a tidy home. Many days you do not:) Just depends on what day or moment you catch me:)

  2. Lori B. says:

    What a great school room. My favorite is the last “real” picture. I love that other people’s homes look like mine. I cleaned my room the other day and my husband said it was really nice to be able to go the bathroom in the middle of the night and not worry about tripping over anything. Oh well, one day I’ll have time to keep a neat house. Right now I’m busy trying to raise Godly kids. 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    I think my favorite part of your school room is that wicker basket cabinet. I’d love to have one of those! I keep board games piled on the tops of my bookcases too! I really like your homeschooling area.

  4. I love your magnetic art strips. I need to figure out how to do that in my homw.

  5. I would have to say that your “keeping it real” looks like my house on a GOOD day! LOL

    You know, I JUST moved all the games off the bookshelf, I think it was, Friday. I am in the middle of organizing them. Fun!!!

Leave a Reply

