Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

TOS E-Book HomeWork – A Review

on April 7, 2009



I have to admit, when I downloaded this ebook I was a bit surprised at the format. I thought that it was going to be in a more traditional text book format. A “do this… do that… enjoy eternal happiness and success!” Kind of a thing (I jest, of course). I was pleasantly surprised to instead see a series of stories written by parents just like myself. Parents trying to juggle work, school, family life and make ends meet all at the same time.

Broken up into different Work at Home sections, A Labor of Love, Computer Based, Creative Writing, Business Support, and Tricks of the Trade, HomeWork is very easy to follow. It’s a great book for being able to read a chunk, stop, change a diaper, wipe a nose, read another chunk, make dinner… you get the idea. Heck, it would be a great bathtub book if you wanted to print it out.

Some encouraging quotations that I pulled out are,

And as hard as I find it to say “no,” I’ve had to learn that I can’t be all things for all people. Sometimes, I simply can’t do what others want me to do.
-The Cook Family (Amy)

I have a really hard time saying no to people. Amy from the Cook family really struck home with this comment. It’s nice to know that I am not the only who struggles with saying no to things.

The biggest obstacle to growing my business has been time management. It’s good to try and manage one’s time; it’s another thing entirely to be honest about how much time you actually have to manage.

and

I firmly believe that if God wants moms to work from home, He is more than able to provide the perfect business plan. He will make a way, even if it seems there is no way.
– Cate Brizzell

Knowing that God is in charge, EVEN in home based business, and recognizing that He is the one guiding everything that you do is so important.

Not only does the book contain great tips on different work at home businesses, but there are also tips on different homeschooling methods, schedules and routines. I really liked that it was REAL people talking about their REAL lives instead of just a list of things to do or avoid. That being said, at the end of the book there is also a great list of things to do to keep a home based business running smoothly.

Another great thing is the article about clutter and organization. The list of yes or no questions to help you decide what to keep, and what to get rid of. This is definitely something that I have to do!

There are real ups and downs shared here. It is not all feel good, everything goes smoothly kinds of stories. Some people lose their early businesses, only to find the Lord leading them somewhere new. Some people find that the way that they began was not the way they were to continue, even while staying in the same business. Many of the writers urge not to let the business become an idol. To remember why you’re doing it in the first place.

While his book is definitely relevant to me as I struggle to find the place for my own at home business in our family, it is very long. It took me quite a few sit down sessions to read it, and if I had not been reviewing it, I may not have read it in its entirety.

I would still recommend it to those thinking about starting a home based business, there are many different ideas of home based businesses that can be run, while still keeping a family life. There is also encouragement for those who already have businesses and are attempting to homeschool at the same time.

Leave a Reply

