Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Hurry up…

on January 19, 2009

I can’t even count the number of times that I say that in a day.

“Hurry up and make your beds.”

“Hurry up and finish that.”

“Hurry up and get a book.”

Hurry, hurry, hurry. Instead of dwelling in the moment, instead of enjoying the kids, my husband, life, as it comes, I am constantly aware of the next thing that needs to be done, needs to happen, etc, etc…

You know what though? I’m missing it. Today is never going to happen again. So what if the rooms are messy, the beds aren’t made, the dishes aren’t done. If the day ends and my kids know that they were loved, that they were cherished for who they are, then that should be a successful day.

I’ve been really enjoying reading Eyes of Wonder. Jewels, the author, portrays her life in such a beautiful awe inspiring way. Her love for the Lord comes across in everything she writes. Her love of life and her enjoyment of each small thing as it comes is so encouraging.

Ja and I have always talked about building our own house, having a little bit of land, a few animals… this lady is living our dream in a way. She has managed to simplify their life, creating the time and the space to be able to enjoy every moment as it comes. The family all work together to make their house a home.

One day, if the Lord sees fit to provide us, we will have this dream. In the meantime, however, I am going to slow down. I am going to simplify things in our own house. I am going to have tea parties, finger knit, read books, play with lego, and most of all, I am going to make sure that my children, hooligans that they are, know that they are loved and that they are cherished. I will probably stumble, I will probably fall flat on my face more than a few times, but that’s okay. I know that as long as I admit when I am wrong, admit when I made a mistake, that it will be okay. We will all learn, we will all do better.

christmas 2008 075

3 responses to “Hurry up…

  1. mommyknows says:

    Sometimes I long for a simpler life too! I am a bit afraid to take the steps to make it happen.

    I do the hurry up, hurry up, hurry up thing too! It’s awful. I am feeling especially nostalgic these days as Georgia goes from babyhood to childhood. *sob*

    😛 – I heard that blog365 comment!

    Georgia wanted to know if those were her dishes. I said, “NO”, but she’s gone to check! HA

  2. AmyJ says:

    Hurry up and get these spam comments fixed! haha!!

    Seriously, we all need to take time to slow down and enjoy the goods things we have and focus less on the not so good things.

  3. jamie says:

    AWWW, MK, did she find her dishes? HAHAHAHAA! I’d really like to get the dishes too, but I can’t FIND them anywhere here! YEESH.

Leave a Reply

