Hooligan Zoo

Two Zookeepers… many Hooligans… It's always feeding time at this zoo!

Silence. Blessed, blessed silence.

on January 18, 2006

In case you were wondering, I am married to the most wonderful man in the world. 

Right now, as we speak, he is taking the children all bundled up out to the ice cream store and for a walk. 

Which leaves me, here, in my house, all alone.

sigh.

Sometimes I forget what the silence of an empty house is like.  I mean, I still get quiet, but you're always aware that there are people around.  Little people that could need you at any second.  Little people that need snacks, bums wiped, noses wiped, toys fixed, fights broken up, hugs and cuddles.  Doesn't seem like much, but it does take a lot of time, and sometimes it takes a lot of effort. 

It's funny though.  Funny because they've been gone for about twenty minutes now, and I'm already feeling a little bit lonely.  Feeling a bit like I'm not sure what to do with myself.

Don't get me wrong, quiet is good.  Quiet can be productive.  But a little noise sure adds to the excitement of this life.

Leave a Reply

